JavaScript is required Shatkarma - Shatavari Ayurveda Yoga Holistic Research Centre And Hospital -ShatkarmaBanner


Hatha yoga is a precise and organized science that originated from the early yoga Upanishads. It comprises Shatkarmas, in which 'Shat' means 'Six' and 'Karma' means 'Actions,' and involves six groups of purification practices to achieve physical and mental balance by harmonizing the two significant pranic flows, Ida and Pingala.

It is essential to balance the three doshas - Kapha-Mucus, Pitta-bile, and Vata-wind - to avoid illness. The Shatkarmas are purification practices that can help achieve this balance. Performing these practices before engaging in advanced yoga practices like pranayama is recommended to ensure safe and successful spiritual progress.

Please keep in mind that the Shatkarmas are potent techniques that should only be taught by experienced gurus. When practising these techniques, it is crucial to receive personal instruction to ensure they are tailored to your limitations and needs. It is not recommended to learn them from books or inexperienced instructors.


1. NETI – Cleansing of the nasal passages.
2. DHOUTI – Cleansing of the alimentary canal.
3. NAULI – Strengthening of the abdominal organs.
4. BASTI – Cleansing of the large intestine.
5. KAPALBHATI – Cleansing of the frontal area of the brain.
6. TRATAK – Intense gazing of a point, develsoping concentration and cleansing the mind.

A variety of practices come under these categories. We will look at the following cleansing practices that can be helpful for many problems.

    1. Bindu Tratak – Concentrated Gazing on Dot
    2. Jyoti Tratak – Concentrated Gazing on Flame
    3. Kapalbhati – Frontal Lobe Cleansing
    4. Agnisar Dhouti – Fire Breath
    5. Jal Neti – Nasal Cleansing with Water
    6. Danda Neti – Nasal Cleansing with Tube
    7. Vaman Dhouti – Stomach Cleansing
    8. Danda Dhouti – Stomach Cleansing with Tube
    9. Vastra Dhouti – Stomach Cleansing with Cloth
    10. Lagoo Shankarprakshalan – Partial Cleanse
    11. Poorna Shankarprakshalan – Master Cleanse